“Enticing blog title”

Information Technology in Context with Craig was my first class of my first year as a BIT student. Not knowing what to expect I was pleasantly surprised by the relaxed and humorous environment. As it was the first class of the subject we went over the course outline, basically what to expect in classes to come.

images

One of the things we talked about was this blog, which has been a bit daunting to me as I have never ever in my entire life used or even thought about using a blog. The closest thing I have come to a blog is watching the “Julie & Julia” movie, http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1135503/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1. So it’s fair to say I am a “newbie”. However Craig explained to us that our blog doesn’t need to be serious. Informational, insightful, entertaining and persuasive were the terms used to describe what a blog should be.

He also explained the A+ student letter assessment. Which I am having trouble with because I am so unsure of what I want to do after the BIT being an A+ student or not. Luckily I have met a few 2nd and 3rd year students, who have helped me get a better understanding of how to write the letter.

I liked how Craig used YouTube videos to help us have a better understanding of what we were doing. The videos were short, sweet and informational which I found very helpful. His use of the video “Be Brave” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUQsqBqxoR4 also made a lot of sense to me in the way that I would have to get out of my comfort zone during this course. That was helpful, knowing that I would have to “be brave” right from the start.

Overall, my first ITC class was a good one! I like Craigs relaxed and funny teaching style. As well as his use of videos to, “explain things better than he can”.

computer-cartoon-class

Leave a Reply

